4-Step Bedtime Relief Process

Yesterday I went to my ENT, and he noticed I have an ear infection in the ear that has gone deaf.  I have been having intratympanic steroid injections, so the pain I had I put down to just a side effect of the injections.  However it seems I have an infection and I am on systemic steroid therapy, and have also been on a 10 day course of antibiotics.  So I was prescribed some larger-dose antibiotics as a remedy.  I took my first tablet at lunch time, and within the hour I had a train bell ringing very loudly at 180 bpm.  Until this episode, I had been coping pretty well with the tinnitus, but all of a sudden my hyerpacusis red-lined and I found the rest of the afternoon more challenging than previous days.  As bed time approached, my anxiety levels increased – I need to get my sleep.  So I hatched up a process, and slept like a baby…

The following steps I took were about calming myself down, and letting go of anxiety.  I wasnt due for bed for another hour.  If I could get my nervous system to calm down and relax, that seemed like a great action-oriented approach to dealing with the problem rather than lathering myself up in my own thoughts and stabbing my limbic system with nothing but harmful swords.

Step 1 Take a Hot Shower

Hot showers are known to help improve sleep, as long as you do it well before bedtime.  I use this as an evening ritual to prepare my mind for the pre-sleep wind-down phase.  Sometimes I will do hot/cold showers to help with circulation, and I am going to experiment with that later.  But last night I just had a hot-warm-hot-warm shower for about 15 minutes.

Step 2 Spend 5 Minutes Progressive Muscle Relaxation

I did this in a meditation posture, sat on a chair.  The purpose of this was less about falling asleep, but releasing the tension that I know I had in my body from the heightened levels of T and H I had been experiencing.  This is great way to do focus the mind away from anything else, and I find the muscle tensing helps distract away from the T and H.

Step 3 Spend 5-10 Minutes Doing Mindfulness/Acceptance Meditation

I realize there are some mindfulness practices shaped specifically for tinnitus, but I carved my own.  I have done mindfulness meditation for years, so I decided lastnight that I would watch my breath for a short while, feeling a lot more relaxed, and then focus on my T and H as the object of mindfulness.  I admit I had to do this in stages, mainly because the H was so strong.  But as I did it, I started to genuinely allow myself to accept the experience.  I didnt repeat some rote statement.  I accepted it into my heart.  In fact I thanked it.  I am glad I am still alive.  I am glad that I have been fortunate to find so many great new friends from this.  I am glad, I am glad I am glad….

Step 4 Gratitude Exercise

Once the meditation was over, I decided to go sit with my wife while she watched TV, and I would spend some moments truly being grateful, with pen and paper, for what good things can come from this new life state.  I only wrote 5 things down, and even though the T and H still endured, it all felt less bothersome.  I managed to relax before bedtime, and then went to bed and dropped off within 5 minutes of hitting the sack – and in those 5 minutes I amped up the relax-dial with some autogenic relaxation.

Slept like a baby, and woke up once (consciously) but managed to drop off straight away.

Leave a comment